0844 5874525

Mark Wood
I attended the course with some work colleagues & we were instructed by Mark "Nobby" Knowles, who gave us an excellent history of his amazing career. The whole day was fantastic in terms of the instruction, focus on safety & improvements seen for all of us under Mark's instruction. A superb day & it was a privilege to meet Nobby
Special Forces Firearms Experience 17th April 2019
Kelly Borchers
Training was absolutely outstanding!! Mark knows his business and is a very skilled instructor! I flew in all the way from Japan and it was well worth the jet lag!!! I hope to return ASAP!!!
Bespoke Firearms Course 13th April 2019
Rob Doody
Spent the day with 3 work colleagues and Nobby. What a great experience learning about the special forces, about Nobby‘s career and about how to use weaponary safely and effectively. Loved it.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 13th April 2019
Miles R
We have just completed a 2-day pistol course which was a continuation from an introduction course we did last year. Mark’s teaching methods as well as structure of the courses are designed to build competence and confidence fast through a safety-first approach. Each element of the course supports the next, building knowledge and ability concurrently. We are booked in for further courses this year, without doubt 5-star rating!
Bespoke Firearms Course 21st March 2019
Scott Bennett
The experience and knowledge of Mark is unquestionable and his delivery was well paced and easy to follow. The basic fundamentals of pistol shooting was taught using Airsoft pistols, which replicate the real steal counterparts. The techniques shown, when followed correctly, resulted in bullseye accuracy. In fact I have adopted the stance in my rifle shooting and my accuracy has improved so the system works. Mark is attentive, patient and has a relaxed teaching style and I thoroughly enjoyed the day. The only negative was the lack of range time. I simply wanted more.
5th March 2019
David Loftus
I received many years of weapons training whilst in the military, and went on to complete several basic, to advanced level courses whilst working in the private security sector. I’ve had excellent instructors in the past with diverse backgrounds ranging from simple civvy street NRA, to active and retired SF personnel. I was never an expert, far from it, but I believed that I retained safe working proficiency, through repetition and range days. However, in the past four years my career focus changed and I became preoccupied with studies and gaining experience in another profession. With new qualifications and the looming potential for a return to the private security sector, I required competencies on specific weapon systems. I fully expected a loss of technique, muscle-memory and discipline, so I needed to address severe skill-fade. I specifically needed a return to military level proficiency and wanted to find a suitable SF level instructor with the patience of a saint. Tall order I know! I knew our friend Google wasn’t one to be trusted, so I asked several trusty contacts to come up with some recommendations and nearly all directed me to STS. Upon learning the background of Mark Knowles, I knew I had the right instructor. I consulted with Mark who did some vetting whilst reviewing my requirements, a short time later he agreed to design and deliver a bespoke course. The welcoming introduction, presentation, course location, facilities and equipment was impressive. The course timetable was well planned out and enabled Mark to assess my strengths and weaknesses. Despite expected errors, I found myself learning fast. Mark has exceptional method of instruction and spotted every flaw and mistake as I made them, this enabled Mark to iron out the creases, and he did a lot of ironing! One of the most important things I came away with was improved marksmanship and focus. Mark found subtle flaws and worked hard to ensure I maintained accurate technique despite expected fatigue. After a day of training most of us want to switch the brain off, but this is when Mark pushed me the most which resulted in a better training outcomes. I came away with everything I wanted from the course and can’t thank Mark enough. I fully intend on using STS for all future training.
Bespoke Firearms Course 1st March 2019
Victor Ptak
I asked Mark Knowles of STS to provide a course of tuition in pistol safety and weapons handling, he more then exceeded my expectations. Mark is a highly experienced tutor whose emphasis on safety is of the highest quality his knowledge of the correct use of grip, stance and aiming technique is unsurpassed a highly informative and well spent few days. I will be returning for more tuition .
Bespoke Firearms Course 26th February 2019
Darren Rendall
an excellent opportunity to learn from such a wealth of knowledge and experience that Mark has gained and perfected in his 33 years of UKSF, the delivery of the course and the assistance and attention given is outstanding, I have bought home a whole new skill set that has stayed well in my mind, I will keep practicing and demonstrate my improvements on the next course that I book. looking forward to applying my new skills at my HOA club
24th February 2019
AJ Finch
I took my 3 sons, ages 11 - 16 with me on the course, and all of us learned lots and had a great time. We were all stretched, especially mentally. Mark was welcoming and extremely patient (really, really patient). I am so glad that my boys have had a safe, authoritative introduction to real firearms, and I believe this will serve them well. I have no hesitation in recommending the course to ... almost anyone, really ... but especially if you would like to learn what it is like to handle a real firearm in a safe environment.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 23rd February 2019
Jenny Coote
I signed up for this course with a couple of friends (fellow firearms novices) to try something new and also use the experience to add some realism into my writing. I didn't realise that shooting would prove so addictive - am itching to have another go and improve my marksmanship skills. Our instructor, Nobby, was brilliant - he looked after us very well, was thorough in his explanations (and patient!!), always with an emphasis on safety. I didn't at any time feel like I was in danger (from myself or fellow attendees!). It was very interesting and inspiring to hear the story of his military career. All in all, a brilliant day that I would recommend to anyone.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 22nd February 2019
Kate Bond
I signed up for this day more as a friends bonding day out than for anything else. However, as a result of attending and really enjoying Nobby’s instruction, a couple of us are thinking of getting further teaching in target shooting. None of us had shot before but Nobby is a fantastic instructor and a really inspiring person to be around. We were a group of women and would definitely encourage more to try this out.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 21st February 2019
Mathew Fullerton
I had never had any experience or training with live firearms before and found this course extremely Educational with the safe use of firearms and how to use them properly. The training given was 5/5 and a walked away feeling confident. The instructor was friendly and the day was well planned and prepared, I never lost interest. Learning about the what the special forces did and still do amazes me. I would recommend this course to anyone.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 18th February 2019
JAMES WHITE
Had a fantastic one to one weekend course. Very intensive and full of content. Excellent tuition from Mark and looking forward to getting out to France for a week course.
Bespoke Firearms Course 15th February 2019
Robert Streeter
A great way to learn about the safe handling of firearms and to gain the key skills needed to shoot in safety. Mark, the instructor, communicates his knowledge and experience in a confident and friendly way. With the small group, each of us received plenty of individual attention. A great day, overall.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 30th January 2019
Jay Turley
As modest about his achievements as mark is he brings a wealth of knowledge to the table. He is a calm and collected instructor, who will explain everything you need to know so that you can achieve an understanding of the weapon system, how it works and most important the SAFETY procedures. Do not fool yourself into thinking you will be on the range in the first 10 minutes you must understand the components first or to think that you can be in the pub till midnight every night. You have to pay attention, listen to the instruction and most of all enjoy yourself. With those three things you will have a brilliant course, actually understand the weapon and achieve a lot in a short period of time. I couldn’t recommend this training centre enough.
Bespoke Firearms Course 19th January 2019
Léo Jarry
The weeklong experience was part of an in-house training by our organization and aimed at improving our practical skills when deployed for documentation in war affected areas. Certainly the best training I attended, regardless the field. Instructors are versatile and can adapt their teaching precisely to your needs. The director, Mark "KNobby" Knowles, spent decades in operations worldwide - and that clearly shows. (He also makes great sandwiches) The venue is surrounded by B&Bs, easy to access and situated in a lovely town. Would definitely recommend, and will gladly come back for further trainings.
Business Corporate Firearms Package 29th December 2018
David Wilkinson
Having had very limited experience with firearms I was amazed at how quickly Mark instilled safety procedures and drills to myself and the other members of the course. With his disciplined approach to instructing and his attention to detail we all finished the course with a great amount of confidence in handling a number of different weapons systems and the desire to learn more.
Bespoke Firearms Course 20th December 2018
Justine Fleischner
I've previously received weapon safety and shooting training, but never experienced anything like this. Mark was incredibly knowledgable if not a bit tough and insisted on breaking all old habits, instilling confidence and capability in the process. His shooting training was excellent and he quickly realized I am left eye dominant, which no previous shooting instructor had identified. He has an outstanding variety of weapons to learn on and we had a great time on the course.
Bespoke Firearms Course 20th December 2018
Mike Clarke
My wife and I recently attended the Special Forces Shooting Experience with Shooting Training Solution. Mark Knowles provided an excellent course all round. Delivered in a very relaxed and informal manner Mark began the day by giving insights into his impressive background career in the UKSF. After this we moved on to safe operating procedures and marksmanship principles before getting hands on with familiarisation with the AK and M4 platforms and associated operating drills. In the afternoon we progressed to the live fire phase of the day, shooting from standing, kneeling and prone positions under the keen and watchful eye of Mr Knowles. I was was extremely impressed when Mark watched and observed my shooting and after assessing my target give me a small hint on my shooting stance which tightened my groupings. The day cumlminated with a friendly competition amongst the participants with a shoot using a scoped bolt action rifle. Mark is a fantastic instructor with a wealth of experience. Superb day all round.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 26th November 2018
Adrian Whiting
A grate corse for anyone who wants to know how to operate a weapon safely, The corse instructor was awesome he really knows what he is talking about and his Military carrier was very impressive, I will be undertaking more firearms training with STS.
Special Forces Firearms Experience 26th November 2018
Simon Thomas
As soon as I arrived to the training ground I was welcomed by Mark and offered hot drinks etc, such a nice guy with skills to match.. I have never handled some of the weapon systems mark had to offer and his knowledge on them and skill set was TOP NOTCH, I'm pretty confident if I ever find one in my line of work that I can now make it safe.. The mechanics of some of the weapon systems were a little to take on, but I'm sure after a few more sessions mark would get you stripping these down "blindfolded" because his instruction is so clear and direct Live firing was not just fun but safety was at the highest level at all times "how it should be" all in all Mark Knowles is at the very top of the game Tier One
Special Forces Firearms Experience 26th November 2018
Chris Hall
Very helpful course really helped me brush up on my rusty drills and instruction helped me maintain a good standard of shooting at the end. Also really insightful to see Mark’s background and history. He’s the real McCoy, no doubt!
24th November 2018
Jasa Yagomate
The course was well organised and was professionally run.I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is planning to join the Maritime Industry. The instructors knowledge and experience was second to none.
Maritime Firearms Competency Course 5th November 2018
Lee Johnson
Attended a two day bespoke firearms training course which I thoughrily enjoyed. Mark delivers unrivaled tuition and professionalism which only comes forms the British military. Have already booked a second visit to further my knowledge.
Bespoke Firearms Course 28th October 2018
Miles R
This is our second time training with Mark. It was planned as a follow on from the Special Forces Firearms Experience 2-day course we undertook early this year. The bespoke course focus was on primary weapons, 1-day AK74 and 1-day M4 giving a deeper understanding of each weapons system and how to use them through a safety-first approach. Each activity supported the next, building context, understanding, knowledge and confidence concurrently. At the end of each day what you have learnt is pressure tested in a competition against each other adding an extra challenge. I 100% recommend this training course.
Bespoke Firearms Course 27th October 2018
123456789101112131415161718192021222324252627